Our Mission

New Canaan CARES is an independent, non-profit community organization whose purpose is to advance the health and well-being of youth and families.

CARES provides responsive educational programs that support and strengthen parenting skills, positive youth development, and healthy lifestyles – free-of-charge.

© Adrian Dreßler
© Adrian Dreßler
© Adrian Dreßler
© Adrian Dreßler

Executive Director

Ellen Brezovsky, LCSW

Ellen received her Master’s in Social Work in Program Planning and Clinical Work from Columbia University. Ellen is currently a Licensed Clinical Social Worker in the State of CT and has a long history of working in prevention education and program planning. Prior to her role as Executive Director of New Canaan CARES, she served as Director of Community Relations at Silver Hill Hospital. She has worked closely with New Canaan Cares and the New Canaan Coalition and is knowledgeable about the issues facing New Canaan’s youth and families. Ellen offers an excellent balance of clinical, program development and community outreach experience. Ellen spent the previous 18 years working for the City of Stamford Health and Social Services Department in their HIV Prevention Program, first as the HIV Prevention Educator and then as the HIV Prevention Supervisor. Ellen also has consulted at the Stamford Counseling Center as an individual/couple/family therapist. She has also supervised school social workers in the Stamford School Based Health Centers as well as HIV case managers. Ellen began her career as a medical social worker in the AIDS unit at Westchester Medical Center in Valhalla, NY where she also planned educational programs for both staff and the community. Additionally Ellen serves on the Board of Directors for a new non-profit, the Youth Mental Health Project whose goal is to empower families and communities to act with the knowledge, skills, and resources they need to support the social, emotional, mental, and behavioral health of youth.

Board of Directors

Sara Schubert, Chair
Jayne Benton
Ann Dunn
Annie Drapkin
Christen Garcia
Tindley Gilbert
Kristen Grzymski
Emily Hanlon
Therese Heyn
Ann McMahon
Stacey O’Malley
Dr. Anna Simonis

Advisory Council

Michelle Riley, Chair
Dr. William Flynn
Serena Gillespie
Laurel Howe
M.E. O’Connor
Jody O’Donnell